Dearborn County High School Students Invited To Compete In Maverick Challenge

Dearborn County Students Can Earn Business Experience, Prize Money In Maverick Challenge

Registration for the high school business planning competition is open until September 18

Photo caption: 2016 AIM YP Maverick Challenge Champion Sydney Schaefer (center) was awarded $2,000 for her business plan, Cupcakes for Kids.

(Dearborn County, Ind.) – AIM Young Professionals of Dearborn County is again inviting local high school students to turn their business idea into a business plan and win money in the process.

Past participants in the Maverick Challenge have won anywhere from $2,000 up to $4,000. The champions have used their winnings to help pay for college or invest toward making their business plan a reality.

All a student needs to have a shot at becoming the next Maverick champion is a good idea and the desire to see their business plan completed. That’s what helped make South Dearborn High School freshman Sidney Schaefer the 2015-2016 county champion.

“I believe that it is a great learning experience. I learned so much from this and I believe anybody can do it, so they should go for it,” Schaefer said.

Past AIM Young Professionals of Dearborn County Maverick Challenge champions:

2016 -Sydney Schaefer, freshman, South Dearborn High School

2015 – Dalton Ranshaw, senior, South Dearborn High School

2014 – Crystal Nichols, senior, South Dearborn High School

2013 – A.J. Waltz, senior, East Central High School

Founded in 2008 by the Columbus, Indiana Area Chamber of Commerce, the competition gives high school students in twelve southeast Indiana counties (Bartholomew, Brown, Dearborn, Decatur, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Ohio, Ripley, Scott, and Switzerland) the opportunity to learn what it takes to get a small business up and running.

Online registrations to compete in the AIM YP sponsored local Maverick Challenge are being accepted now through Sunday, September 18 at There is no cost to register. Students can compete individually or in teams of up to three.

After entering, students will meet with Maverick Challenge administrators for guidance, make pitches, meet deadlines for creating and refining a written business plan, and deliver presentations. Competitors will be given access to online tools and receive plenty of expert assistance along the way. AIM YP has assembled a panel of local business owners, managers, and service providers to give the students valuable advice.

“AIM Young Professionals is in its fifth consecutive year administering the Maverick Challenge in Dearborn County. Past participants have learned a tremendous amount about what it takes to start and run a business, giving them an advantage over their peers,” says AIM YP president Mike Perleberg.

Next spring, one competitor or team will be named the 2017 champion of the Maverick Challenge sponsored by AIM YP and earn a prize of up to $2,000. They will advance to compete at the regional Maverick Challenge competition in Columbus, Indiana for even more recognition and prize money.

“We want to continue to show that Dearborn County has some of the most promising entrepreneurs in the state,” Perleberg says.

You can lern more about the Maverick Challenge, register to compete, and find official rules and guidelines at Questions may also be directed to AIM YP Maverick Challenge director Hollie Stoops at

AIM Young Professionals is thankful for the Dearborn County Chamber of Commerce’s generous support of the Maverick Challenge.


About AIM YP
AIM Young Professionals of Dearborn County is an organization committed to the development of a highly diverse and enthusiastic network of strong social, professional, and charitable relationships for the purpose of creating awareness of the infinite opportunities in Greater Dearborn County. We are dedicated to assisting the youth of today so they may realize their true potential and assist in their quest to identify their individual path for success.

AIM (Achieve, Inspire, Mentor) is a sub-organization of the Dearborn County Chamber of Commerce. The group was co-founded in 2009 by Amanda Ewbank and Andrea Ewan.

The organization is led by an advisory board of nine members. They are President Mike Perleberg, Vice President Alan Miller, Secretary Stephanie Baer, Treasurer Tom Palmer, Andrea Ewan, Rachel Reynolds, Mooch Hamilton, Amy Powell and Doug Rieman.

AIM’s official website is Follow us on Facebook and on Twitter, @aim_yp.

Designed and Hosted by Absolute Web Designs